- 2017 Special Olympics World Winter Games held in Austria -
- Indian special athletes medal tally includes 37 golds, 10 silver and 26 bronze medals.
- Next Special Olympics World Winter Games will be held in Abu Dhabi (UAE) in 2019.
- > 2017 Uganda International Series -
- Men's Singles Georges Julien Paul (Mauritius)
- Women's Singles Bridget Shamim Bangi (Uganda)
- Men's Doubles Indian Pair of Francis Alwin and Tarun Kona
- Women's Doubles Egyptian pair of Doha Hany and Hadia Hosny
- ▶2017 World Women's Youth Boxing Championship will be hosted by India in November 2017.
- All England Badminton Championships 2017 -
- Men's Singles Lee Chong Wei (Malaysia) won by defeating China's Shi Yuqi.
- Women's Single Tai Tzu-ying (China) defeated Ratchanok Intanon (Thailand).
- Men's Double Indonesia's Marcus Gideon and Kevin Sukamuljo.
- Women's Doubles South Korea's Chang Ye Na and Lee So Hee.
- Mixed Double China's Lu Kai and Huang Yaqiong.
- Argentina Footballer Lionel Messi banned from 4 international matches, for swearing at a match official.
- Australian fast bowler Shaun Tait announced his retirement from all forms of cricket.
- Australian women cricketer Sarah Coyte announced retirement from all forms of Cricket.
- Bakshi stadium in Srinagar (J & K) will be lifted up to International statndards as per FIFA norms, with 48 crore expenses.
- Bhubaneswar (Odisha) will host 2017 Men's Hockey World League final and 2018 Men's Hockey World Cup.
- Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) will award Rs.1 crore to Indian Cricket Team which recently won T 20 blind cricket World Cup by beating pakistan.
- ▶ Brazil Open Men's Tennis 2017 -
- Singles Pablo Cuevas (Uruguay)
- Doubles Rogério Dutra Silva (Brazil) / André Sás (Brazil)
- Cheteshwar Pujara became the first Indian batsman to face 500 balls in a Test Innings, surpassing Rahul Dravid's previous best of 495 balls.
- China Based Mobile manufacturer *Oppo* won sponsorship rights of Indian cricket team for 5 years, beginning from April 1, 2017. It replaced Star India.
- Court of Arbitration for Sport (Lausanne (Switzerland)) upheld a lifetime ban that had been put on sergei Portugalov (Russia), for his role in providing illicit substances to Russian athletes.
- Double Olympic gold medallist Englis Cyclist Joanna Rowsell Shand announced her retirement.
- Dubai Tennis Championship 2017 -
- Men's Singles Andy Murray (United Kingdom)
- Women's Singles Elina Svitolina (Ukraine)

- Men's Doubles Jean-Julien Rojer (Netherlands) / Horia Tecău (Romania)
- Women's Doubles Ekaterina Makarova (Russia) / Elena Vesnina (Russia)
- Ethiopian-born Turkish runner Elvan Abeylegesse stripped of 2 Olympic silver and 1 world silver Medal after failing dope test.
- Former India Footballer Bhaichung Bhutia removed from post advisor to both AIFF and AIFF President Praful Patel.
- ISSF Shooting World Cup 2017 (Held in New Delhi) -
- India's Jitu Rai won Gold Medal in 50 metre pistol Men's Event.
- Besides Jitu's Gold in 50 metre pistol, India was able to score 4 more medals -Amanpreet Singh (Silver in 50 metre Pistol), Jitu Rai (Bronze in 10 metre air pistol), Ankur Mittal (Silver in Shotgun Double Trap), Pooja Ghatkar (Bronze in 10 metre air rifle).
- China stayed at top of medal tally with 12 medals.
- India's Ankur Mittal won gold medal at International shooting sport Federation (ISSF) shotgun World Cup in men's double trap event in Mexico.
- Indian Bowler Ravindra Jadeja ranked at top spot in Latest ICC Test bowlers Rankings, followed by Ravichandran Ashwin.
- Indian Para Athletics won 8 medals in 9th Fazza International IPC Athletics Grand Prix Competition held in Dubai (UAE).
- Indian Wells Masters Tennis Title (BNP Paribas Open) -
- Men's Singles Roger Federer (Switzerland)
- Women's Singles Elena Vesnina (Russia)
- Men's Doubles Raven Klaasen (South Africa) / Rajeev Ram (USA)
- Women's Doubles Chan Yung-jan (Chinese Taipei) / Martina Hingis (Switzerland)
- Indian spinner Ravichandran Ashwin has set new record for most wickets in a single Test season, with 79 wickets in 2016-2017 season. He went past South African pacer Dale Steyn, who had claimed 78 wickets in 2007-08.
- Indian women hockey team won five-match Test series against Belarus by 5-0.
- India's SV Sunil has been named as Asian Hockey Federation (AHF) player of year 2016 in senior men's section. While Harmanpreet has been honoured in Junior men's section.
- India's Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and Chirag Shetty won Vietnam Open International challenger badminton title in men's double category.
- India's Vidya Pillai won Silver in World Women Snooker Championships in Singapore.
- International Cricket Council (ICC) appointed Indian cricketer Sachin Tendulkar as official ambassador of Women's Cricket World Cup 2017 to be held in June 2017 at England and Wales.
- ► Mexico Open Tennis 2017 (Abierto Mexicano Telcel) -
- Men's Singles Sam Querrey (United States)
- Women's Singles Lesia Tsurenko (Ukraine)
- Men's Doubles Jamie Murray (United Kingdom) / Bruno Soares (Brazil)
- Women's Doubles Darija Jurak (Croatia) / Anastasia Rodionova (Australia)

- Mumbai lost its permanent status in Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), as per new terms finalised by Committee of Administrators (CoA) appointed by Supreme Court. While full membership with voting rights has been granted to all North Eastern states.
- National record holder K T Irfan won bronze in 20 kilometre men's event in Asian Race Walk Championships held in Nomi (Japan).
- Pakistan Blind Cricket Council (PBCC) appointed Shahid Afridi as ambassador for 5th Blind Cricket World Cup to be held in UAE and Pakistan in January 2018.
- Punjab won 71st (Punjab's 9th) Santosh Trophy football tournament by defeating Railways.
- Russian Tennis Player Maria Sharapova will return to Tennis through Stuttgart Open in April 2017, after 15 Month doping ban.
- SSP Chawrasia won Hero Indian Open Golf Title, successfully defending the same. He is second Indian golfer after Jyoti Randhawa to successfully defend Hero Indian Open.
- Sebastian Vettel (Germany) won Australian Grand Prix 2017 -
- 2017 Formula 1 Season -

• Round	Grand Prix	• Winner	• Da
• 1	 Australian Grand Prix 	• Sebastian Vettel (Germany)	• 26
• 2	• Chinese Grand Prix	•	• 9 A
• 3	• Bahrain Grand Prix	•	• 16
• 4	• Russian Grand Prix	•	• 30
• 5	• Spanish Grand Prix	•	• 14
• 6	Monaco Grand Prix	•	• 28
• 7	• Canadian Grand Prix	•	• 11
• 8	 Azerbaijan Grand Prix 	•	• 25

• 9	Austrian Grand Prix	•	• 9 J
• 10	British Grand Prix	•	• 16
• 11	 Hungarian Grand Prix 	•	• 30
• 12	• Belgian Grand Prix		• 27
• 13	Italian Grand Prix		• 3 Se _l
• 14	• Singapore Grand Prix		• 17 Se _l
• 15	Malaysian Grand Prix	.01	• 10
• 16	• Japanese Grand Prix	3 •	• 80
• 17	• United States Grand Prix	•	• 22
• 18	Mexican Grand Prix	•	• 29
• 19	Brazilian Grand Prix	•	• 12 No
• 20	Abu Dhabi Grand Prix	•	• 26 No

- Srinath Narayanan became India's 46th Grandmaster after defeating GM David Anton Guijarro (Spain) at Sharjah Masters 2017 chess tournament.
- Famil Nadu won Deodhar Trophy of Cricket by defeating India 'B'.
- Famil Nadu won the 2017 Vijay Hazare cricket Trophy for fifth time, defeating Bengal.
- West Bengal won 71st Santosh Trophy of football by defeating Goa. It was 32nd win of West Bengal.
- Youth Affairs and Sports Minister Vijay Goel designated 14 Olympians as 'National Observers' for 12 sports disciplines.
 - Sports Discipline Name of National Observer(s)

• Athletics	PT UshaAnju Bobby George
Archery	Dr Sanjeev Kumar Singh
Badminton	Aparna Popat
Boxing	Mary KomAkhil Kumar
Hockey	Jagbir Singh
• Shooting	Abhinav Bindra
Tennis	Somdev Devvarman
Weightlifting	Karnam Malleshwari
Wrestling	Sushil Kumar
• Football	• I M Vijayan
• Swimming	Khajan Singh
Table Tennis	Kamlesh Mehta