## BHARAT SCHOOL OF BANKING MARCH MONTH - AWARDS

- 6 Indian Americans selected for Ellis Island Medal of Honour, highest civilian award in USA for immigrants Indra Nooyi, Fareed Zakaria, Dinesh Paliwal, Dr. Annapoorna, Yashvant Patel, Mohan H Patel.
- 8th Laadli Media Awards for Gender Sensitivity 2016 (Northern and Eastern Region) Given to Anima Pookkunnyil and Shreya Ila Anasuya.
- Barbadian singer Rihanna won 2017 Harvard University's Humanitarian of the year Awar, for her work in supporting education and health care in Caribbean and developing countries.
- Bollywood Actress Aishwarya Rai Bachchan won best actress award at International Film Festival and Awards of Australia (IFFAA) fo her movie Sarbjit, Directed by Omung Kumar.
- Britain's Indian Origin Cabinet Minister Priti Patel received Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Award (PBSA) in London from Indian High Commission in United Kingdom.
- British singer Ed Sheeran will be honoured with Songwriters Hall of Fame's 2017 Hal David Starlight Award. Global ambassador award has been given to Pitbull.
- Canadian teacher Maggie MacDonnell won \$1-million Global Teacher Prize. He teaches at a school in a fly-in only village of Salluit in the Arctic region.
- French mathematician Yves Meyer won 2017 Abel Prize for his role in development of mathematical theory of wavelets (small waves or ripples).
- GMR's Hyderabad International Airport ranked 1st in world in Airports Council International (ACI) Airport Service Quality (ASQ) survey in 5-15 million passengers per annum (MPPA) category in 2016.
- Govardhan Eco Village of International Society for Krishna Consciousness (ISKCON) at Wada taluka in Maharashtra received award in the "Best Water NGO-Water Education" category instituted by Water Digest.
- This village had earlier been conferred with UNWTO Award for Innovation in the category of Non-Governmental Organisations (NGO), during UNWTO Awards for Excellence and Innovation in Tourism held at Madrid in Spain.
- I & B Minister Minister Venkaiah Naidu conferred 6th National Photography Awards (total 13 awardees), noted awardees are -
- Raghu Rai Life-Time Achievement Award
- K.K. Mustafah Professional Photographer of the Year
- Indian Film Lipstick Under My Burkha, directed by Alankrita Shrivastava won audience award at Glasgow Film Festival (Scotland).
- Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Madras won 2017 IEEE Spectrum Technology in Service of Society Award for its solar-direct current (DC) inverter system.
- System is developed by Centre for Decentralised Power Systems at IIT-M using micro grid technology. It converts in-home power distribution from 230V Analog Current (AC) to 48V DC to directly power appliances and devices.

## BHARAT SCHOOL OF BANKING MARCH MONTH - AWARDS

- Indian-American Anshumali Shrivastava has been honored with National Science Foundation's prestigious CAREER Award for his research on redesigning current machine-learning processes.
- Indian-American Indrani Das won top prize of \$2,50,000 in Regeneron Science Talent Search competition in USA for her research on treating brain diseases.
- Indian-origin British director Gurinder Chadha honoured with 2017 Sikh Jewel Award for her contribution to British cinema.
- Karur Vysya Bank (KVB) awarded as Best Small Bank for 2016 (Balance Sheet Size under 1 lakh crore) by Business Today and KMPG.
- Lalji Singh (Former Director of center for cellular and Molecular Biology) has been selected for award of SERB Fellowship (science and Engineering Research Board ).
- NDTV India's Ravish Kumar has been awarded by First Kuldip Nayar journalism award.
- Noted American actress Viola Davis has been awarded the 2017 Artist of Year Award by Harvard Foundation, during foundation's 32nd annual Cultural Rhythms Festival.
- Noted Konkani writer Mahabaleshwar Sail selected for Saraswati Samman 2016 for his novel Hawthan.
- Saraswati Samman annual award was established in 1991 by K. K. Birla Foundation, for honoring outstanding literary work in any Indian language. It carries cash prize of 15 lakh rupees, a citation and a plaque of goddess Saraswati.
- Noted Malayalam author M P Veerendra Kumar has been awarded 30th Moortidevi award 2016 by Bharatiya Jnanpith organization for his travelogue Hymavathabhoovil.
- Noted actor Anupam Kher honoured with Kala Ratan Award by vice president Hamid Ansari at Punjab University (Chandigarh).
- Odisha-based installation artist Sitaram Swain chosen as Glenfiddich's Emerging Artist of 2017.
- President Pranab Mukherjee presented Dr. B. C. Roy National Awards to 49 physicians for 2014, 2015 and 2016 and Hari Om Ashram Alembic Research Awards to 4 physicians.
- President Pranab Mukherjee presented KCK International Award for excellence in Print Journalism. Award for 2014 was conferred upon Wanjohi Kabukuru's team for story How East Africa Lost Its Innocence and award for 2015 was awarded to Rakesh Sharma.
- Ramakrishna Ashram (West Bengal) conferred with Pandit Deen Dayal Upadhyay Rashtriya Krishi Vigyan Protsahan Puraskar for 2016, during Krishi Unnati Mela 2017 held in New Delhi.
- Randeep Guleria appointed as Director of All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS) Delhi.

## BHARAT SCHOOL OF BANKING MARCH MONTH - AWARDS

- Singapore's Changi Airport voted as World's Best Airport by air travellers at 2017
   World Airport Awards for 5th consecutive year. Top 5 are -
- Changi (Singapore)
- Tokyo (Japan)
- Incheon (South Korea)
- Munich (Germany)
- Hong Kong International Airport
- Sri Lanka won Most Popular Tourism Destination Award at Guangzhou International Travel Fair (China), for second consecutive year. China has been Sri Lanka's second largest source market for tourism since 2014.
- Two Indian-American authors Siddhartha Mukherjee and Paul Kalanithi have been shortlisted for the £30,000 Wellcome Book Prize.
- Zee Cine Awards 2017 -
- Best Actor Amitabh Bachchan (Pink)
- Best Actress Alia Bhatt (Udta Punjab)
- Best Director Ram Madhvani (Neerja)
- Best Film Jury Pink
- Viewer's Choice Best Film: Dangal
- Best Supporting Actress Shabana Azmi (Neerja)
- Best supporting actor (Male): Rishi Kapoor (Kapoor & Sons)
- Best Music: Ae Dil Hai Mushkil
- Best Playback Singer (Female): Neha Bhasin (Jag Ghoomeya, Sultan)
- Best Playback Singer (Male): Arijit Singh (Ae Dil Hai Mushkil title track)