BHARAT SCHOOL OF BANKING COOPERATIVE BANKS

In normal **commercial banking**, the banking business is owned or maintained by government (in case of **Public Sector Banks**) or some **private** entity (in case of **Private Sector Banks**). In this case, **banks**, on behalf of government or that private entity, **lends** to other individuals or business, i.e., **borrowers**. The sole purpose of this commercial banking is **profit**.

But in case of cooperative banking, some small private entities or individuals come together, and form a small financial institution (by their own funds / member funds), and lend to the members of that institution. Note that the banking business here is on cooperative basis, i.e., one member is helping / lending to other member (now they do lend to non-member individuals or entities as normal banks). These financial institutions are known as Cooperative Basis.

Purpose

Initially, **cooperative banks** were set up to meet the **credit** needs in **rural** area, especially to prevent **money lenders**, but now they have vast area of services as follows -

- Agricultural and allied activities
- Rural-based industries
- Small trade and industry in Urban areas, etc.

Structure of Indian Cooperative Banks

Cooperative banks in India have a 3-tier structure -

- Primary Credit Societies (village/town/urban centers)
- Central Cooperative Banks (district-level)
- State Cooperative Banks (state-level)

Urban Cooperative Banks (UCBs)

Primary (urban) Credit Societies that meet certain criteria can apply to RBI for a banking license to operate as Urban Cooperative Banks (UCBs).

- Managerial aspects, like registration, management, recruitment, administration, etc. are controlled by Registrar of Cooperative Societies (RCS) of the respective state governments (as per Co-operative Societies Acts)
- Banking aspects are governed by RBI (as per Banking Regulation Act, 1949)

BHARAT SCHOOL OF BANKING COOPERATIVE BANKS

These banks cater to the needs of **small borrowers** including retail traders, small entrepreneurs, professionals, salaried persons, etc.

District Central Cooperative Banks (DCCB)

DCCBs are cooperative banks at the **district-level**. Each district generally will have only one **DCCB**. Following the establishment of **NABARD** in **1982**, the supervisory function of these banks has been passed on to **NABARD**.

State Cooperative Banks (SCB)

SCBs are cooperative banks at the **state-level**. A number of **DCCB**s report to an **SCB**. **NABARD** has the supervisory authority over these SCBs.

Note that DCCB and SCB has three supervisors - RCS, RBI and NABARD, whereas UCBs are controlled by RCS and RBI.