BHARAT SCHOOL OF BANKING

NATIONALIZED BANKS AND PUBLIC SECTOR BANKS

Public Sector Banks (PSBs)

If the government holds majority stake, i.e,. more than 50 % stake of an enterprise, then it is known as Public Sector Unit (PSU). Government is the owner of the PSU, and is responsible for the managerial control of the enterprise. Similarly, if the majority stake (>50 %) of a bank is held by the government (generally, central government), then it is known as Public Sector Bank (PSB).

To know whether a **bank** (or any enterprise) is a **public sector** bank, just take a note on the **stake** of **government**.

NationalizedBanks

If some **private entity** or **individual** holds the **majority stake** (>50 %) of **a bank**, then it is a **Private Sector Bank**. Now if the **government buys** the **majority stake** of the **private bank**, and take the **managerial control** of it, then it will be known as **Nationalized Bank**, and the process will be known as **Nationalization**.

Note that the bank earlier was a **private bank**, but after the **nationalization** process, it became a **Nationalized Bank**. Hence to know whether a **bank** is a **nationalized** bank, just take a note on the **history** of the bank (**private -> public**) and the **stake** of **government** in it.

NationalizedBankvsPSB

Now it is evident that a nationalized bank is always a public sector bank (PSB), because the government (in turn the public) owns it (>50 % stake), but a PSB may not be a nationalized bank (if the government itself creates the bank, with majority stake).

HistoryofNationalization

- The **Reserve Bank of India (RBI)** was **nationalized** with effect from **January 1, 1949**, on the basis of **Reserve Bank of India (Transfer to Public Ownership) Act, 1948**.
- The **Central government** entered the **banking business** with the **nationalization** of the **Imperial Bank of India** in **1955** (60% stake bought by **RBI**), and renamed **State Bank of India** (**SBI**) under **State Bank of India** Act, **1955**. In **2008**, **government** acquired RBI's stake in SBI to remove any conflict of interest, because RBI is the banking regulatory authority.
- The 7 other state banks became the subsidiaries of SBI, after being nationalized on 1959, under State Bank of India (Subsidiary Banks) Act,

1959 Currently 2 SBI subsidiaries are merged, making total 5 SBI associate banks.
The major nationalization took place in July 19, 1969 under former PM Smt. Indira Gandhi, under Bank Nationalization Act, 1969. 14 major banks were nationalized at that time, making 84 % of total branches coming under government control. However, on February 10, 1970, the Supreme Court held the Act void on the grounds that it was discriminatory against the 14 banks and that the compensation proposed to be paid was not fair compensation.

BHARAT SCHOOL OF BANKING NATIONALIZED BANKS AND PUBLIC SECTOR BANKS

A fresh Ord	inance was issued o	n February 14, which	was later replaced by Banking
Companies (Acquisition and Transfer of Undertakings) Act, 1970.			
The next nationalization process took place in 1980 , making 6 other banks nationalized . 91			
% of total	branches came	under government	control, through Banking
Companies (Acquisition and transfer of Undertakings) Ordinance, 1980.			

Which banks are Nationalized Banks?

This is a **debated topic**. If we consider the definition of **Nationalized banks**, then the criteria is - the bank need to be a **private bank** prior **nationalization**. This criteria is satisfied by **RBI**, **SBI**, **SBI associates** and all other **banks** that are **nationalized** in **1969** and **1980** (total **14** + **6** - **1** = **19**, '-1' because **New Bank of India** is merged with **Punjab National Bank** in **1993**).

But it is better not to call **RBI**, **SBI**, or **SBI** associates as a **Nationalized Banks**. Because, they **draw** power from different **Acts**, like -

- RBI Reserve Bank of India (Transfer to Public Ownership) Act, 1948
- SBI State Bank of India Act, 1955
- SBI Associates State Bank of India (Subsidiary Banks) Act, 1959

Banks that are nationalized in 1969 and 1980 draw power from Banking Companies (Acquisition and transfer of Undertakings) Act of 1969 and 1980, are known as Nationalized Bank.

These total **19 banks** are designated as **Nationalized Banks** by **RBI** in their website too -Also note that **IDBI Bank Ltd**. is denoted as **Other** PSBs in the website.

Bharatiya Mahila Bank (BMB) is a government-owned bank from the **beginning.** So there is no process of **nationalization** involved. Hence it is a **Public Sector Bank**.

Now we can calculate the total number of Public Sector Banks (PSB) as -

- SBI and SBI Associates 6 banks
- Nationalized banks (both 1969 & 1980) 19 banks
- **IDBI bank 1** bank
- BMB bank 1 bank

Total = 6 + 19 + 1 + 1 = 27 PSBNationalization vs. Privatization

Nationalization is the process for a **government** to expand its **economic** resources and power, whereas **Privatization** is the process where **government-owned companies** are spun off into the **private** sector.