BHARAT SCHOOL OF BANKING Issuance of Currency

Issuance of Currency

According to **RBI Act 1934**, **Section 22**, **RBI** has the sole right to **issue bank notes** of all **denominations**. RBI is responsible for the **design**, **production** and **management** of the **currency** of India, with the goal of ensuring an **adequate supply** of **clean** and **genuine notes**.

The responsibility for coinage vests with the Government of India on the basis of The CoinageAct, 2011. RBI acts as an agent of government which merely distributes the coins in the market.

Denominations

Currently, RBI has issued currency notes in the **denomination** of **Rs. 10, 20, 50, 100, 500** and **1000**. However, it can issue notes with denomination up to **Rs. 10,000**, as per the provision of **RBI Act, 1934**.

Coins are presently being issued by the government in the **denomination** of **50 paise**, **Re. 1**, **Rs. 2**, **5**, and **10**. Coins up to **50 paise** are called **'Small coins'** and **Rupee 1** and **above** are called **'Rupee coins'**. Coins can be issued up to the denomination of **Rs. 1000** in terms of **The Coinage Act, 2011**.

Liabilities

- Small and Rupee Coins Government of India
- Rupee One banknote Government of India (signed by Finance Secretary)
- Banknotes above Rupee One Reserve Bank of India (signed by RBI Governor)

Minimum Reserve System to issue currency

India adopted Minimum Reserve System in the tenure of RBI governor Sir Benegal RamaRau in 1957. In this system, RBI is required to maintain a minimum reserve of Rs. 200crore in gold and forex, of which at least Rs. 115 crore should be in gold form (earlier India followed Proportional Reserve System) to issue currency in India.

(Note that the above figure may be outdated!)

Determination of volume and value of banknotes to be printed

BHARAT SCHOOL OF BANKING Issuance of Currency

RBI based on the **demand requirement** indicates the **volume** and **value** of **banknotes** to be printed each year to the **government** which get finalized after **mutual consultation**.

The quantum of **banknotes** to be **printed** depends on the followings -

- Requirement for meeting the **demand** of banknotes
- GDP growth
- Inflation rate
- Replacement of **Soiled and Mutilated notes**
- **Reserve Stock** requirements, etc.

Notes and Coins production

- Notes are printed at 4 Printing Presses, located at Nashik, Dewas, Mysore and Salboni
- Coins are minted at 4 Mints, located at Mumbai, Noida, Kolkata and Hyderabad

Currency circulation

RBI currently manages the currency operations through its -

- 19 Issue Office located at Ahmedabad, Bengaluru, Belapur, Bhopal, Bhubaneswar, Chandigarh, Chennai, Guwahati, Hyderabad, Jaipur, Jammu, Kanpur, Kolkata, Lucknow, Mumbai, Nagpur, New Delhi, Patna, Thiruvananthapuram
- A wide network of Currency chests

The **Issue offices** receive **fresh banknotes** from the **printing presses** of **RBI**, and then send the notes to the designated **branches** of **commercial banks**.

Currency Chest - RBI has authorized select commercial bank branches to establish currency chests, which would act as storehouses for banknotes and rupee coins on behalf of RBI. These chest branches are expected to distribute banknotes and rupee coins to other bank branches in their area of operation.

Small Coin Depot - Some bank branches are authorized by RBI to establish Small Coin Depot to store Small coins (i.e., below Rupee 1 coins), which will distribute the coins in their area of operation.