BHARAT SCHOOL OF BANKING

Finance Ministry

Ministry of Finance (MoF)

Finance Ministry is one of the most **important** ministries of **Government of India**. It **governs** the following -

- Taxation (direct and indirect CBDT and CBEC comes under this ministry)
- Financial Institutions (Banks, NBFCs, etc.)
- Capital Markets (SEBI, etc)
- Financial Legislation (Money Bills, etc.)
- Center and State finances
- General Budget (presented by Finance Minister)

Departments of MoF

Ministry of Finance of India comprises 5 departments -

1. Economic Affairs

Department of Economic Affairs (**DEA**) formulates and monitors the **economic policies** and **programmes** of the **government**. It performs the following functions -

- General Budget (excluding Railway Budget) preparation
- Formulation of macroeconomic policies fiscal policy, inflation, public debt management, capital market regulation, stock exchange, etc.
- Deals with external resources through Bilateral and Multilateral cooperation with foreign countries, foreign investments, forex, balance of payments (BOP), etc.
- Indian currency production (bank notes and coins), postal stamps, cadre management, etc.

Economic Affairs Secretary - Shri Rajiv Mehrishi

2. Expenditure

Department of Expenditure governs the **public financial management** system in the **Central government**. It performs the following functions -

- Appraises major schemes or projects before sanction (both Plan and non-Plan expenditure)
- **Center** to **State** financial resources transfer

BHARAT SCHOOL OF BANKING

Finance Ministry

- Implementation of Central Pay Commission (currently 7th Pay Commission chaired by Justice Ashok Kumar Mathur) and Finance Commission (currently 14th Finance Commission chaired by Dr. Y.V.Reddy) recommendations.
- **Expenditure** management of **Central Ministries** or **Departments**, etc.

Expenditure Secretary - Ashok Lavasa

3. Revenue

Department of Revenue controls all the **Direct** and **Indirect Taxes** by **Central Board of DirectTaxes (CBDT)** and **Central Board of Excise and Customs (CBEC)** respectively.

Note that **Income Tax, Customs Duty, Excise Duty,** etc. - all type of taxes are governed by **Revenue Department**.

Revenue Secretary - HasmukhAdhia

4. Financial Services

Department of Financial Services (**DFS**) governs all **banks**, **insurance**, **pension** and **financial services** (including **MSME**s) provided by **government agencies** or **private corporations**.

Financial Services Secretary - Anjali Duggal

5. Disinvestment

Department of Disinvestment is responsible for making policy regarding disinvestment and privatization of Public Sector Units (PSU) of government of India.

Disinvestment Secretary - Smt. AradhanaJohri

Cadres of MoF

The following cadres of Indian Civil Services work under Ministry of Finance -

- Indian Economic Service (IES)
- Indian Revenue Service (IRS)
- Indian Cost Accounts Service
- Indian Civil Accounts Service

Finance Minister

BHARAT SCHOOL OF BANKING

Finance Ministry

First Finance Minister of **independent India** is **Shri R.K.ShanmukhamChetty** and current Finance Minister is **ShriArunJaitley**.

Minister of State for Finance

Current Minister of State for Finance is ShriJayantSinha

Finance Secretary

Finance Secretary plays the **leadership role** among the **5 departmental secretaries** (chosen among them). Generally **Finance Secretary** tends to be the **senior most** of the 5 (**seniority** based on **entry** into **civil services**, not based on actual **age**).

Current Finance Secretary is Economic Affairs Secretary - Shri Rajiv Mehrishi